Meet Recap: 2021 Barnhart Memorial XC Invitational

Meet Page l Photos 

Dulaney High School (Timonium, MD) once again played host to the 38th Annual Barnhart Memorial Cross Country Invitational meet on Saturday, Sept. 11. Athletes from 25 high schools across five Maryland counties were met with ideal running weather for this early season test.

(Ella Zeigler finishes as the first place winner of the girls varsity race)

The girls varsity race saw James Hubert Blake's Ella Zeigler bring home the win with a blistering time of 19:24.2, followed by Catonsville's Hallie Shepard (19:40.2) and Dulaney's Anna Albergo (19:45.8). However, led by Isabel Aldana, Towson ended up as the team score winner with 35 points. Host Dulaney (73 points) brought home the runner-up honors led by Albergo, and McDonough (74 points) rounded out the team podium, which was led by Mary Gorsky

(Ashton Tolson finishes as the first place winner of the boys varsity race)

The boys varsity race was won by C. Milton Wright's Ashton Tolson with a time of 15:47.0, followed by Dulaney's Tyler Dailey (16:02.2) and Manchester Valley's Aiden Neal (16:12.0). The team event was a clean sweep for the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Conference as Loyola Blakefield, which was led by Colin Verrett, brought home the win with 55 points. Calvert Hall College (63 points) received the runner-up award with Ryan Connelly at the forefront, and Mount St. Joseph (75 points) finished third as led by Charlie Butler.

(Loyola Blakefield's Noah Brannan and Bryce Robinson go 1-2 for the boys junior varsity race)

The girls junior varsity race was won by Notre Dame Preparatory freshman Olivia Sobkowicz (21:04.5). Behind was her sophomore teammate Maggie Back (22:23.5), while Loch Raven's Elisa Calderon finished third (22:52.0). In the boys junior varsity race, Loyola Blakefield brought home top honors behind the 1-2 finish of freshman Noah Brannan (19:04.0) and sophomore Bryce Robinson (19:04.4), while Calvert Hall College's freshman Elliot Palmer finished third (19:05.5). 

(Jonas Kaplin finishes as the first place winner of the boys open race)

Last, but not least, the boys open division was won by Towson's Jonas Kaplin (19:30.3), followed by Cameron Padmore (19:49.9, Hammond) and Noah Baker (19:51.8, Mount St. Joseph).

Meet Page l Photos