Meet Recap: 2021 Arundel XC Invitational

Results I Videos 

Arundel High School once again hosted the 2021 Arundel Cross Country Invitational in their own backyard on Saturday, Oct. 2. Athletes were met with ideal running weather for this early October meet. The course, also known as "The Chase," included a mix of wooded trails and grass fields with many different sites, such as "Snake Hill," "Homeless Man Hill," "Burning Stump," and more.

During the meet, certain teams took over the individual titles. Arundel succeeded in taking over the individual titles for both the Boys and Girls Varsity-A races. Likewise, Broadneck succeeded in taking over the boys and girls individual titles for the Varsity-B race. 

(Interview: Boys Varsity-A Champion, Tucker Sangster)

Regarding the Boys Varsity-A race, Arundel senior Tucker Sangster became the first-place finisher with a time of 16:40.17. Broadneck junior Bryce Clark finished second with a time of 17:01.03, followed by Old Mill senior Damon Martin with a time of 17:10.79. Arundel was able to take home the first-place individual title because of Sangster, but it was Clark that led his team to take over the team title. Broadneck took home the top honors with 47 points. The second-place team was DeMatha Catholic (75 points), and the third-place team was Arundel (82 points). 

(Interview: Girls Varsity-A Champion, Katherine Leddy)

The Girls Varsity-A race was a much closer race. Arundel senior Katherine Leddy and Sherwood freshman Avery Graham battled for the first-place title. Ultimately, Leddy out-kicked Sherwood, allowing Arundel to grab a second individual title. Leddy finished first with a time of 19:27.46, and Graham was close behind with a time of 19:30.70. The third-place finisher was John Carroll junior Victoria Novak with a time of 21:14.72. For the team scores, Chesapeake-AA was first with 69 points, followed by Arundel (86 points) and Sherwood (88 points).

(Winner of Varsity-B race, Chase Riesenfeld)

The last race of the day combined both boys and girls into the Varsity-B race. Broadneck freshman Chase Riesenfeld won first place with a time of 19:26.70. Behind him was Sherwood freshman Jackson Schade with a time of 19:49.20. Southern-AA sophomore Fletcher Bell finished third with a time of 20:28.70. Riesenfeld helped Broadneck win the team title with 45 points. Second was Sherwood (49 points) and third was Southern-AA (95 points). 

(Girls Winner of Varsity-B race, Alexandra Clark)

For the girls, Broadneck sophomore Alexandra Clark became the first girl to finish the Varsity-B race with a time of 24:13.20. She was followed by Chesapeake senior Rachel Snyder with a time of 25:36.00, and Sherwood freshman Charlotte Rosado with a time of 27:09.50. Snyder led Chesapeake-AA in winning their second team title for the meet with (27 points). Broadneck was second with 30 points.