MPSSAA State Meet Records Watch - BOYS

Many State overall and classification records are in jeopardy for the upcoming MPSSAA Maryland State Indoor Championships. Read about each record that may go down below!

For the full state record book please see the MPSSAA Information page - HERE

Boys 4A

300m Dash - Nick Spikes (Paint Branch) has run 33.57 this season. The record is 34.35 run by Afolabi Aromire (CH Flowers) in 2005. Deaon Windham (C.H. Flowers) and Wesley Todd (Bowie) will also try to run under that time as they have run 34.38 and 34.44 respectively. 

800m Run - Tsedeke Jakovics (Old Mill) has run 1:155.16 this season. The record is 1:55.98 by Wayne Bartholomew (Quince Orchard) in 2009. 

1600m Run - James Partlow (Thomas Johnson) has run 4:13.02 this season. The record is 4:14.61 by Vincent Ciattei (Perry Hall) in 2013. This is also the overall State Record. Tsedeke Jakovics, who has a chance to break 3 state records, has run 4:16 this year. 

3200m Run - James Partlow (Thomas Johnson) has run 9:06.33 this season. The record is 9:16.00 by Ryan Forsyth (Severna Park) in 2014. This is the overall state record. 

4x200 Relay - Bowie has already run faster than the current record this year. They have run 1:28.88. The record is 1:29.67 by Suitland in 2004. Paint Branch will also be in the hunt for this record as they have run 1:29.41. 

Pole VaultGilberto Ramos has jumped 14-06 this year and will try to beat fellow Thomas Johnson athlete Erik Artusio who set the state record of 15-1.50 back in 2010


55m Dash - Zachary Braden (Great Mills) has run 6.42 this year. The current record is Anthony Smith (Huntingtown) who ran 6.36 in 2020

300m Dash - Lamont Johnson (Digital Harbor) has run 34.43 this year. The record is 34.49, set by Anthony Smith (Huntingtown) in 2020. Jordan Tuck (Northern Calvert) is also in range here as he has run 34.60 this season. 

500m Dash - Jordan Tuck (Nothern Calvert) has run 1:04.40 this season. The current record is 1:04.71 by William Zahorodny (Damascus) in 2008. 

800m Run - Weston Carr (Chopticon) has run 1:56.63 this year. Joey Ensor (Howard) has run 1:57 this year and ran 1:56 last year in the spring. The current record is 1:56.14 set by Jordan Leon (Milford Mill) in 2015.

1600m Run. The current record of 4:17.50, set by Chris Heydrick (River Hill) is in Jeopardy this year. Joey Ensor (Howard) has run 4:20.32. Justin Banks (Tuscarora) has run 4:22. 

3200m Run - Joey Ensor (Howard) has run 9:24.82. While Kieran Mischke (Towson) has not run under 9:30 this year (9:36) he has the capability to do so as the reigning 3A State XC Champ. The current record is 9:25.53 set by Michael Lynch (Atholton) in 2009. 

4x200m Relay - Digital Harbor has run 1:29.51 this year. The record, which is the overall state record, is 1:28.99 set by Westlake High in 2008. 


55m Dash - Marlin Newsome (Centennial) has run 6.41 this season. The current record is 6.39 set by Trevin McHargh (Oakland Mills) last year. Darrius Mason (La Plata) will also be in the hunt as he has run 6.42 this season. 

500m Dash - The current record is 1:04.58 set by Rico Gomes (Douglass-PG) in 2015. Ben Wheeler (Hereford) has run 1:05.07 this year and Damon Ferguson (Milford Mill) has run 1:05.36

1600m Run - Ben Marks (Queen Annes) has run 4:19.04 this season and Eric Penkala (Southern-AA) has run 4:20.79, just off the current record of 4:18.89 set by Robbie Creese (Glenelg) in 2011. 

3200m Run - The current record is Justin Diehl (Calvert) who ran 9:28.63 in 2019. Eric Penkala (Southern-AA) has run 9:30.35 this year and Henry Hopper (Wilde Lake) has run 9:34.84. 

4x200m Relay - La Plata has run 1:31.30 this year, Westlake has run 1:31.38, and New Town has run 1:31.64. All three teams are just off the current record of 1:30.74 set by Largo in 2017. 

Pole Vault - Reese Howard (Parkside) has jumped 14-01 this year. The current record is 15-01set by Pat Tvarkunas (Glenelg) in 1996


300m - Donte Long (Friendly) has run 34.16 this season, just .02 behind the current record of 34.14 set by Kyle Farmer (Oakland Mills) in 2001

500m - Last year Cameron Rejonis (Smithsburg) out leaned Furious Trammel for the state win and the new state record of 1:06.12. This year Furious Trammel (Catoctin) has run 1:05.64 and will look to earn his own state title and record this year.

800m - Grant Stephens (Friendly) has run 2:01.95. The current record is 2:00.11 set by Donovan McClellan (Boonsboro) in 2019. 

4x200m Relay - Friendly has run 1:31.72 this season, faster than the current record of 1:31.97 set by Carver in 2011. Largo will also be in the mix as they have run 1:32.15 this season. 

High Jump - Ojigwe Olua (Western Tech) and Larry Stewart (Kent County) have jumped 6-02 this year just 2 inches shy of the current record of 6-04 set by Jason Redmon (Boonsboro) in 1991.